Continuing Education Requirements
Massage therapy license requirements vary from state to state and the laws are constantly changing. It is our current understanding that Tennessee requires massage therapists to complete 25 CE hours every 2 years for license renewal, of which 2 CE hours must be in Tennessee statutes and rules and 2 CE hours must be in practice management, ethics or substance abuse.
What We Can Do For You!
- As of January 1, 2013 you may take up to 8 hours of continuing education through our home study programs to fulfill your continuing education requirements.
- You can use our various ethics continuing education courses to satisfy this Tennessee requirement.
- The Tennessee Board of Massage will accept any of our 150+ courses to satisfy the 8-hour home study option with the exception of courses related to animal massage.
If you would like to verify this information, or have further questions regarding your massage therapy continuing education requirements, we suggest contacting the Tennessee Board of Massage directly. The telephone number for the Tennessee Board is 800-778-4123 or visit their website at http://health.state.tn.us/Boards/Massage/index.htm.
The Institute for Integrative Healthcare Studies is approved by the NCBTMB as a continuing education Approved Provider (#049478-00). All of our continuing education programs can be used for National Certification renewal.
You may also use our credits for other organizations you may belong to, such as the American Massage Therapy Association (AMTA) or Associated Bodywork Massage Professionals (ABMP).